Skip to content

COVID-19 Economic Advisory Committee Members Announced

Bermuda News ABIR in the News

Government of Bermuda, Department of Communications Media Release

COVID-19 Economic Advisory Committee Members Announced

HAMILTON, Bermuda, 20 May, 2020: Bermuda’s Minister of Finance, The Hon. Curtis L. Dickinson, JP MP, today announced the members of the Government’s new COVID-19 Economic Advisory Committee, which is comprised of a diverse group of 11 local and global, business and community leaders.

The Honorable Curtis L. Dickinson, JP, MP
Minister of Finance

Members Appointed by the Minister of Finance:

  • Ms. Teresa Chatfield, Owner/Director, MEF Bermuda;
  • Mr. Dennis Fagundo, Co-Managing Director, D&J Construction and President, Chamber of Commerce;
  • Mr. Chris Furbert, President, Bermuda Industrial Union;
  • The Honorable Patricia J. Gordon-Pamplin, JP, MP, Shadow Minister of Finance & Health;
  • Mr. Marc Grandisson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Arch Capital Group Ltd and Deputy Chair, Association of Bermuda Insurers & Reinsurers (ABIR);
  • Ms. Cheryl-Ann Lister, Chair, Bermuda National Anti-Money Laundering Committee;
  • Mr. Michael Neff, Managing Director, Bermuda & International Wealth, Butterfield Group;
  • Ms. Sylvia Oliveira, Chief Executive Officer, Wilton Re Bermuda and Chairman, Bermuda International Long Term Insurers & Reinsurers;
  • Mr. Denis Pitcher, Chief Fintech Advisor, Government of Bermuda;
  • Mr. Patrick Tannock, Managing Director, AXA XL and Chair, Association of Bermuda International Companies (ABIC); and
  • Mr. Stephen Weinstein, Chief Legal Officer, RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd and Deputy Chair, Bermuda Business Development Agency.

Committee Support:
Bermuda Government Liaison to the Committee:
Ms. Tina Tucker

Principal Coordinator of the Committee
Mitchell Klink, E&Y

Association of Bermuda Insurers & Reinsurers (ABIR)

Charged with delivering bold ideas that will shape Bermuda’s future, the Committee will make recommendations to the Minister of Finance for a comprehensive plan to protect jobs and stimulate economic activity over the short, medium and long term.

“I want to give reassurance to Bermudians and to Bermudian businesses that I will work hand in glove with the Economic Advisory Committee to ensure that the future of Bermuda will be bright,” said Minister Dickinson.

“We understand and empathize with the problems that Bermudians and Bermuda’s businesses are going through. We stand by you and we will help you and this committee is about doing just that – to rejuvenate our economy to benefit our people, their children and their children’s children.

“The COVID-19 crisis has brought heartbreak to our community, but it also brings an important opportunity to come together and to use our diversity to think differently.

“The Government welcomes the involvement of these 11 individuals who are all deeply committed to Bermuda’s economic recovery. These are all leaders in their fields and I look forward to working with them.”

The Committee will meet weekly to agree their remit as set out in the Committee’s Terms of Reference which includes:

  • Seeking ideas from a broad cross section of Bermuda’s community and from all sectors of the economy.
  • Recommending policies that promote growth, create jobs and improve the long-term prosperity of the Island.
  • Providing analysis and information to improve the operations, regulations and healthy functioning of the economy.
  • Appointing subcommittees, as needed, to make recommendations for review by the Committee, on tourism and hospitality; technology and infrastructure; financial services; retail and services; social services and healthcare; development and construction. Subcommittees would comprise members of government, business owners, industry associations and individual stakeholders.
  • Proposing changes to Government and Government corporate bodies, and agencies.


Powered By GrowthZone